Brain Canada Brain Canada
EN

Microbiome humain

Chef d'équipe 
  • ,
Membres de l'équipe :
  • ,

Aperçu du projet

Le programme Microbiome humain de l’ICRA réunit 21 chercheurs qui s’intéressent à la nature et à la formation de la conscience. C’est une initiative de l’Institut canadien de recherches avancées qui a été fondé en 1982 et dont la mission est de mobiliser les chercheurs de tous les horizons afin de s’attaquer aux grands enjeux humains. Les boursiers des programmes de l’ICRA travaillent régulièrement en groupes pluridisciplinaires afin d’avancer de nouvelles idées.

Codirigé par B. Brett Finlay de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique et Janet Rossant du Hospital for Sick Children, ce projet examine le microbiome humain et son rôle dans la santé et le développement humains, ainsi que ses effets à long terme sur l’évolution et la société. En éclaircissant la relation entre le microbiome et la biologie humaine, les chercheurs espèrent mieux comprendre la racine de la maladie humaine, les troubles du développement pendant les premières années, la sensibilité humaine aux pandémies futures et autres défis en santé publique, et même le comportement humain.

D’ailleurs, les travaux des boursiers Tamara Giles-Vernick de l’Institut Pasteur, Hendrik Poinar de l’Université McMaster, Frédéric Keck du Musée du quai de Branly, Philippe Sansonetti de l’Institut Pasteur et B. Brett Finlay de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique ont mené à une technique inédite pour prélever de la pulpe dentaire de trois crânes généreusement fournis par l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop du Sénégal. La nouvelle technique a fait l’objet d’un brevet et les chercheurs comptent analyser d’autres d’échantillons prochainement. Ce faisant, ils souhaitent pousser les recherches sur l’effet de la colonisation européenne sur le microbiome des Africains.

De plus, B. Brett Finlay et Michael Kobor de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique ont entrepris un autre programme avec l’ICRA baptisé Développement du cerveau et de l’enfant. Leurs travaux s’intéressent aux effets d’une mauvaise alimentation sur la prévalence de l’entéropathie, une maladie intestinale qui déclenche de l’inflammation et empêche l’absorption des aliments. Ils ont combiné l’expertise des membres des deux projets afin d’élucider les effets de l’intestin et ses processus digestifs connexes sur la méthylation de l’ADN (les modifications structurales de l’ADN) à l’âge précoce et qui sont associés à l’apparition de cette maladie.

Brain Canada Brain Canada
FR Donate

Humans and the Microbiome

Principal Investigator:
  • Brett Finlay, University of British Columbia
  • Janet Rossant, The Hospital For Sick Children
Team Members:
  • Thomas Bosch, Universität Kiel
  • Tamara Giles-Vernick, Institut Pasteur
  • Philippe Gros, McGill University
  • Karen Guillemin, University of Oregon
  • Frédéric Keck, Musée du quai de Branly
  • Sven Pettersson, Karolinska Institutet
  • Tobias Rees, McGill University
  • Philippe Sansonetti, Institut Pasteur
  • Margaret Lock, McGill University

Project Overview

The CIFAR Humans & the Microbiome program brings together 21 researchers to examine what consciousness is and how it comes about. The program is part of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, which was founded in 1982 to bring together researchers from across disciplines and borders to address important questions that affect humanity. Fellows in CIFAR programs come together regularly to collaborate in interdisciplinary groups which give rise to new insights.

The program is Co-Directed by B. Brett Finlay of the University of British Columbia and Janet Rossant of the Hospital for Sick Children. Researchers examine the role that the microbiome plays in human health and development, and its long-term effects on our evolution and society. By understanding the relationship between the microbiome and human biology, they expect to open new insights into the root of human disease, issues of early development, human susceptibility to future pandemics and other public health challenges, and even human behaviour.

A recent collaboration between Fellows Tamara Giles-Vernick of the Institut Pasteur, Hendrik Poinar of McMaster University, Frédéric Keck of the Musée du quai de Branly, Philippe Sansonetti of the Institut Pasteur and Co-Director Finlay of the University of British Columbia resulted in a breakthrough technique for sampling dental pulp from three skull samples, which were generously provided by the Université Cheikh Anta Diop in Senegal. A patent has been filed for the new technique, and plans to analyze more samples are currently underway. The aim is to look more deeply at the effect of European colonization on the microbiome of humans in Africa.

A new collaboration between Finlay and Senior Fellow Michael Kobor of the University of British Columbia, who is a Senior Fellow in another CIFAR program called Child & Brain Development. The collaboration will look into the effects of poor nutrition on the prevalence of environmental enteropathy, a disease of the intestines that causes inflammation and prevents proper nutrient uptake. The combined expertise of the two programs will be harnessed to understand the effect of the gut and associated digestive processes on DNA methylation (i.e., changes to DNA structure) in early life linked to the development of the disease.