Brain Canada Brain Canada
EN Donner

Plateforme canadienne sur le cerveau néonatal

Chef d'équipe 
  • Gregory Lodygensky, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Research Centre
Membres de l'équipe :
  • Steven Miller, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Tim Oberlander, BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital & Health Centre
  • Lionel Carmant, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Center
  • Thuy Mai Luu, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
  • Adam Kirton, Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute
  • Anne Synnes, BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital & Health Centre
  • Margot Taylor, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Ruth Grunau, Child & Family Research Institute
  • Pierre Bellec , Université de Montreal 
  • Hilary Whyte, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Julie Gosselin, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
  • Child & Family Research Institute
  • CHU Ste Justine Foundation
  • Hospital for Sick Children

Aperçu du projet

Le cerveau des nouveau-nés est particulièrement vulnérable aux conséquences biologiques de la prématurité, de l’asphyxie néonatale et des cardiopathies congénitales. Les lésions et la maturation anormale du cerveau au cours de la période néonatale impriment des changements de microstructure et de connectivité persistants à la source d’importants troubles cognitifs, moteurs, linguistiques et comportementaux.

Nous en savons peu sur les éléments qui perturbent manifestement le développement cérébral ainsi que l’étendue de leur influence, notamment parce que nous ne disposons pas de bons biomarqueurs non invasifs, hautement sensibles et spécifiques, mais aussi en raison des difficultés que comportent les études sur les nouveau-nés et l’utilisation de petites cohortes isolées. Il faut donc mieux comprendre les facteurs qui entrent en cause et les moyens pour minimiser leurs effets.

Pour relever ce défi, la Plateforme canadienne du cerveau néonatal réunit une équipe unique et pluridisciplinaire de chercheurs et cliniciens qui élaboreront de nouvelles stratégies pour identifier les causes des retards de maturation et minimiser les lésions cérébrales survenant pendant la période néonatale.

Brain Canada Brain Canada
FR Donate

The Canadian Neonatal Brain Platform

Principal Investigator:
  • Gregory Lodygensky, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Research Centre
Team Members:
  • Steven Miller, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Tim Oberlander, BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital & Health Centre
  • Lionel Carmant, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Center
  • Thuy Mai Luu, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
  • Adam Kirton, Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute
  • Anne Synnes, BC Children's Hospital and BC Women's Hospital & Health Centre
  • Margot Taylor, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Ruth Grunau, Child & Family Research Institute
  • Pierre Bellec , Université de Montreal 
  • Hilary Whyte, The Hospital For Sick Children
  • Julie Gosselin, Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre
  • Child & Family Research Institute
  • CHU Ste Justine Foundation
  • Hospital for Sick Children

Project Overview

The neonatal brain is exquisitely vulnerable to the biological consequences of prematurity, birth asphyxia and congenital heart defects. Brain injury and abnormal maturation in the neonatal period is associated with long-term changes in microstructure and connectivity underlying significant cognitive, motor, language and behavioral disorders.

Our understanding of clear cerebral disruptors of brain development and the extent of their impact are still limited, mostly due to the lack of robust noninvasive biomarkers with high sensitivity and high specificity, difficulties in conducting studies in newborns and the use of small isolated cohorts. A better understanding of suspected causal factors and ways to minimize their effect have yet to be addressed.

To address this challenge, the Canadian Neonatal Brain Platform brings together a unique, multidisciplinary team of researchers and clinicians to define new strategies to identify causes of brain dysmaturation and develop strategies to minimize brain injury occurring during the neonatal period.