Brain Canada Brain Canada
EN Donner

Mettre la recherche en pratique : mesurer l’incidence des diagnostiques d’alzheimer au Canada

Chef d'équipe 
  • Mari DeMarco, University of British Columbia
Membres de l'équipe :
  • Howard Chertkow, McGill University
  • Mohsen Sadatsafavi, University of British Columbia
  • Ging-Yuek Hsiung, University of British Columbia
  • Howard Feldman, University of British Columbia
  • Pauline Tardif, Alzheimer Society of Canada
  • Serge Gauthier, McGill University
  • Women's Brain Health Initiative
  • Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research
  • St. Paul's Foundation
  • UBC Faculty of Medicine

Aperçu du projet

La maladie d’Alzheimer cause la détérioration neurologique progressive et réduit de façon significative la qualité de vie des individus qui en sont atteints et des soignants. Actuellement, plus d’un demi-million de Canadiens souffrent de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une forme de démence connexe, coûtant 10,4 milliards dollars à l’économie canadienne. Dans le contexte du vieillissement rapide de la population, il est estimé que le nombre de Canadiens souffrant de démence ainsi que les coûts associés doubleront d’ici 2031. Ceci représente un enjeu de santé urgent et de plus en plus important.

Le diagnostic précoce et précis de la maladie d’Alzheimer est essentiel puisqu’un accès rapide aux soins de santé et aux services communautaires peut ralentir la progression de la maladie et améliorer la qualité de vie. Présentement, le diagnostic se fait suites à des examens d’imagerie classiques et à l’observation des signes et symptômes de la maladie servent au diagnostic. Il a été démontré la maladie peut être plus facilement identifiée en mesurant aussi la présence de certaines protéines (biomarqueurs) dans le liquide céphalo-rachidien. Ceci permet aussi de prédire quels patients présentant des symptômes légers sont susceptibles de développer la démence.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’équipe vise à comprendre comment les biomarqueurs de la maladie d’Alzheimer influencent la prise de décision clinique et les dépenses de santé. L’équipe mettra au point un outil de diagnostic de l’alzheimer et identifiera les obstacles à son adoption dans le système de santé canadien en recueillant les perspectives de patients ainsi que de leurs familles et médecins et de d’autres parties prenantes.

Brain Canada Brain Canada
FR Donate

Translating research into practice: Investigating the impact of Alzheimer’s disease diagnostics in Canada

Principal Investigator:
  • Mari DeMarco, University of British Columbia
Team Members:
  • Howard Chertkow, McGill University
  • Mohsen Sadatsafavi, University of British Columbia
  • Ging-Yuek Hsiung, University of British Columbia
  • Howard Feldman, University of British Columbia
  • Pauline Tardif, Alzheimer Society of Canada
  • Serge Gauthier, McGill University
  • Women's Brain Health Initiative
  • Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research
  • St. Paul's Foundation
  • UBC Faculty of Medicine

Project Overview

Alzheimer’s disease causes progressive neurological decline and substantially decreases the quality of life of the individuals with the disease and their caregivers. Today, there are over half a million Canadians living with Alzheimer’s disease or a related form of dementia, directly costing Canada $10.4 billion a year. With a rapidly aging population, both the number of Canadians with dementia and the associated costs are projected to double by 2031, representing an urgent and rapidly growing healthcare issue.

Early and accurate diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease is critical because timely access to healthcare and community services has the potential to slow disease progression and improve quality of life. Current approaches for diagnosis rely on traditional imaging tests and observation of the signs and symptoms of the disease. Adding the measure of proteins found in cerebrospinal fluid (biomarkers) has been shown to help correctly identify the disease and predict those with mild symptoms that are likely to progress to dementia.

For this project, the team will develop a comprehensive understanding of how biomarkers for Alzheimer’s disease impact clinical decision making and healthcare costs. The group will develop an Alzheimer’s disease diagnostic tool and, with input from patients, their families, their doctors and other relevant stakeholders, address barriers to uptake and use in the Canadian healthcare system.